New guidelines announced for youth and adult recreational sports.

Governor Pritzker announced new guidelines for youth and adult recreational sports.

Under these new guidelines, each sport is assigned a “risk level” (lower, medium, or higher) based on the amount of direct contact between athletes. A sport’s “risk level” determines what “type of play” athletes can participate in. The “type of play” levels are:

  • Level 1: No-contact practices and trainings only
  • Level 2: Intra-team scrimmages allowed, with parental consent for minors; no competitive play
  • Level 3: Intra-conference or Intra-EMS-region1 or intra-league play/meets only; state- or league-championship game/meet allowed for low-risk sports only
  • Level 4: Tournaments, out-of-conference/league play, multi-team meets, out-of-state play allowed; championship games allowed

Below is what “types of play” are allowed per sport “risk level”:

  • Lower-risk sports: Levels 1, 2, and 3
  • Medium-risk sports: Level 1 and 2
  • Higher-risk sports: Level 1

To find the risk level of a specific sport, click here.

Collegiate sports and professional leagues are not impacted by these restrictions.

The guidance was developed by the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH), the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO), and the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) after consultation with a number of stakeholders including the Illinois High School Association (IHSA) and the Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA).

Want to stay up to date with Senator DeWitte?

Sign up for his E-Newsletter below: