New Small Business Development Center opens in Elgin, DeWitte encourages area businesses to take advantage amid COVID-19 crisis

The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO) announced the opening of seven new Small Business Development Centers (SBDCs) around the state, including one at Elgin Community College. An $11.5 million investment to the SBDC program will add these new community-based centers and expand the reach of existing SBDCs – bringing the statewide network to a total of 42 locations.

During these unprecedented times, SBDCs have been working on the front lines with small businesses to help them access economic assistance to help make payroll and address urgent operational needs to pull through. Specifically, SBDCs play a critical role in providing businesses with support they need to apply and qualify for state and federal emergency assistance programs.

In addition to assistance with grants, SBDCs provide professional one-on-one confidential small business advising and guidance, education, training, business plan development, financial analysis and assistance with access to capital, and more, for start-ups and existing small businesses.

In addition to the new Elgin location, local businesses can continue to receive support at the Small Business Development Center at Waubonsee Community College in Aurora.

Contact information for the two location is below:

SBDC at Elgin Community College

1700 Spartan Drive, Building E, Room E105, Elgin, IL 60123


SBDC at Waubonsee Community College

18 S River St #268, Aurora, IL 60506


Want to stay up to date with Senator DeWitte?

Sign up for his E-Newsletter below: